Press News

We are proud to welcome the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy as a new marketing and distribution client. Visit our blog to learn more.

It’s Black History Month and we’re celebrating with a month-long book giveaway, guest blog posts, reading lists, and book excerpts.

We recommend Oscars fan read Cinetextuality in Quentin Tarantino’s Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood and Dismantling Hollywood’s Whiteness Problem.

Read this and more exclusive content on our blog.

Columbia University Press

On CUP Blog

“This theoretically sophisticated reading of three lesbian writers—Stein, Hall, and Barnes—is at once playful and serious. Roche’s insistence on the queerness of desire, romance, and love between women takes feminist modernist studies in an exciting new direction.” ~Laura Doan, author of Disturbing Practices: History, Sexuality, and Women’s Experience of Modern War To round out our celebration
“With characteristic clarity, [Terrace] gives a convincing account of language evolution in Darwinian terms, without appeal to miracles. This is an important new approach to an old and vexed problem.​” ~Michael Corballis, author of The Truth About Language: What It Is and Where It Came From Herbert S. Terrace, author of Why Chimpanzees Can’t Learn
Joaquin Phoenix claimed the Oscar for best actor for his performance in Joker, solidifying the movie’s position at the forefront of current cinema. Terence McSweeney, author of Avengers Assemble!: Critical Perspectives on the Marvel Cinematic Universe and a forthcoming volume on superhero cinema, and Rebecca Cohen, PhD candidate at Solent University, join us on the
“Wai-yee Li’s translations of these famous Chinese memoirs of romantic brio and pathos from the seventeenth century are a marvel of precision, elegance, and wit—a perfect match for the book’s sensual, tragic contents. Her brilliant annotations and supplemental translations help unlock a whole lost historical world of incomparable richness.” ~Judith Zeitlin, University of Chicago We
“I learned something new and interesting on nearly every page. This is an excellent empirical engagement with affirmative action. Amaka Okechukwu’s updated racial formation theory is smart, compelling, and engaging.” ~Ellen Berrey, author of The Enigma of Diversity: The Language of Race and the Limits of Racial Justice In the 1960s and 1970s, widespread campus