What Is a People?

Alain Badiou, Pierre Bourdieu, Judith Butler, Georges Didi-Huberman, Sadri Khiari, and Jacques Rancière. Translated by Jody Gladding. Introduction by Bruno Bosteels. Conclusion by Kevin Olson.

Columbia University Press

What Is a People?

Google Preview

Pub Date: May 2016

ISBN: 9780231168762

176 Pages

Format: Hardcover

List Price: $24.00£20.00

Pub Date: May 2016

ISBN: 9780231541718

176 Pages

Format: E-book

List Price: $23.99£20.00

What Is a People?

Alain Badiou, Pierre Bourdieu, Judith Butler, Georges Didi-Huberman, Sadri Khiari, and Jacques Rancière. Translated by Jody Gladding. Introduction by Bruno Bosteels. Conclusion by Kevin Olson.

Columbia University Press

What Is a People? seeks to reclaim "people" as an effective political concept by revisiting its uses and abuses over time. Alain Badiou surveys the idea of a people as a productive force of solidarity and emancipation and as a negative tool of categorization and suppression. Pierre Bourdieu follows with a sociolinguistic analysis of "popular" and its transformation of democracy, beliefs, songs, and even soups into phenomena with outsized importance. Judith Butler calls out those who use freedom of assembly to create an exclusionary "we," while Georges Didi-Huberman addresses the problem of summing up a people with totalizing narratives. Sadri Khiari applies an activist's perspective to the racial hierarchies inherent in ethnic and national categories, and Jacques Rancière comments on the futility of isolating theories of populism when, as these thinkers have shown, the idea of a "people" is too diffuse to support them. By engaging this topic linguistically, ethnically, culturally, and ontologically, the voices in this volume help separate "people" from its fraught associations to pursue more vital formulations.

Together with Democracy in What State?, in which Giorgio Agamben, Alain Badiou, Daniel Bensaid, Wendy Brown, Jean-Luc Nancy, Jacques Rancière, Kristin Ross, and Slavoj Žižek discuss the nature and purpose of democracy today, What Is a People? expands an essential exploration of political action and being in our time.

This exciting and provocative collection of essays reflects on the exclusionary perils and emancipatory potentialities of the concept of 'people' and its myriad cognates: popular, peoples, populism, and so forth. With contributions from leading philosophers and social theorists from France, Tunisia, and the United States, What is a People? is a must-read for anyone interested in cutting-edge work in the tradition of French and Francophone critical theory.

Amy Allen, Pennsylvania State University, author of The Politics of Our Selves: Power, Autonomy, and Gender in Contemporary Critical Theory

The central ambition of this powerful book is to leverage the term 'people' away from its conservative recuperations to maintain it in the lexical war chest of the politics of emancipation. All of the authors address, in this regard, the same central issue of the problematic status of this category, though their perspectives and approaches diverge significantly, ranging from linguistic and conceptual analysis to a concern with implicit racial and nationalist politics. The book as a whole therefore makes a significant contribution to the critical debate on the category of the people in all of its conceptual extensions: popular sovereignty, populism, popularity, and ambiguous expressions like 'we the people.'

Gabriel Rockhill, Villanova University, author of Radical History and the Politics of Art

A critical arsenal with which to think the tensions embedded in popular politics

Marx & Philosophy
Preface
Introduction: This People Which Is Not One, by Bruno Bosteels
1. Twenty-Four Notes on the Uses of the Word "People", by Alain Badiou
2. You Said "Popular"?, by Pierre Bourdieu
3. "We, the People": Thoughts on Freedom of Assembly, by Judith Butler
4. To Render Sensible, by Georges Didi-Huberman
5. The People and the Third People, by Sadri Khiari
6. The Populism That Is Not to Be Found, by Jacques Rancière
Conclusion: Fragile Collectivities, Imagined Sovereignties, by Kevin Olson
Notes
Index

About the Author

Alain Badiou is the René Descartes Chair at the European Graduate School. He also teaches at the École Normale Superieure and the Collège International de Philosophie in Paris.

Pierre Bourdieu (1930–2002) served as chair of sociology at the Collège de France.

Judith Butler is the Maxine Eliot Professor in the Departments of Rhetoric and Comparative Literature, University of California, Berkeley.

Georges Didi-Huberman is professor at the Centre d'Histoireet Théorie des Arts at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales.

Sadri Khiari is a Tunisian activist who has lived in exile in France since 2003. He is active in Indigènes de la République (Movement of the Indigenous of the Republic).

Jacques Rancière is professor of philosophy emeritus at the University of Paris VIII.

Bruno Bosteels is professor of Romance studies at Cornell University.

Kevin Olson is associate professor of political science at the University of California, Irvine.

Jody Gladding is a poet who has translated more than twenty works from French.